Medavie Health Services Messenger

Our belief is in a better life for the communities we serve.

Nineteen EHS Operations Paramedics Recognized for Exemplary Service


Nineteen EHS Operations paramedics in Nova Scotia have been awarded the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal for their dedication to the health and safety of all Nova Scotians.

Each of these paramedics has dedicated their career to providing high-quality care to Nova Scotians in their time of greatest need, sometimes at their own personal risk.

Nova Scotia Lt.-Gov. Arthur J. LeBlanc, who presented the medals, noted the dedication they exemplify daily.

“It is my great pleasure to invest these members of the Emergency Medical Services with the Exemplary Service Medal,” said Lt.-Gov. LeBlanc. “Their dedication and commitment to the people they serve – quite often in the most distressing of circumstances – is most deserving of this recognition, which I am honoured to present to them on behalf of Her Majesty The Queen.”

The EHS paramedics who received the medals are:

  • Francine Butts, Chaswood, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Colleen Carey, Hammonds Plains
  • Kevin Carey, Hammonds Plains
  • Charles Charmichael, Georges River, Cape Breton Regional Municipality
  • Joseph Gallant, New Germany, Lunenburg Co.
  • Ryan Grist, Dayspring, Lunenburg Co.
  • Rhonda Helpard, Steep Creek, Guysborough Co.
  • Angela Hickox, Truro
  • Greg MacKinnon, Kentville
  • Angie Matheson, Port Hastings, Inverness Co.
  • John Mosher, Kentville
  • Donna Reid, Hammonds Plains
  • Peter Rose, Dartmouth
  • John Rossiter (posthumous)
  • Shane Strong, Saint-Anne-Du-Ruisseau, Yarmouth Co.
  • Matthew Vaughan, Westville, Pictou Co.
  • Mark Walker, Hammonds Plains
  • Jim Wells, Brookside, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Kelsey Wells, Brookside, Halifax Regional Municipality

Queen Elizabeth II created the Exemplary Service Medal in 1994. It is part of a national recognition program for people who work in high-risk jobs that enhance Canada’s public safety.

Police, firefighters, corrections officers, coast guard members and peace officers are also eligible for exemplary service medals, which are part of the Canadian honours system.

Emergency Medical Services professionals can be nominated by their peers or the public. Recipients must have demonstrated exemplary service in their careers for at least 20 years, including 10 years in an emergency medical services position that involves potential risk.

For more information on the awards, visit

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: